beauty

Urban Decay – 24/7 Glide-on Lip Pencil review.

This Saturday is my work Christmas party.  Yes, despite being on maternity leave I am for sure going to the Christmas party to get me out of the house and talking to grown ups for a few hours!

I headed to Newry as I needed a few new things for the party, one of these things being a new lip pencil.  I used to have a rose coloured one I loved by Estee Lauder but as my make-up bag is now cruelty free I have been looking to replace it with something new.

My first stop was the Bare Minerals counter as I like their pencils but sadly there was nobody at the stand and so lack of service meant I walked over to Urban Decay to ask them what they had.  The girls at the counter were great and pulled out a lovely tray FILLED with lip pencils.  I honestly don’t think I have ever seen so many lip colours on offer by a brand in one display!  I started to put a few on the back of my hand, picking peachy tones as I wanted something fairly nude and asked one of the girls what she thought would look the closest to nude on my lips. She lifted out a colour that to my eye looked to dark, even on the back of my hand I was certain it would be too dark but when I put it on it was perfect.  The colour she selected was aptly named “Naked 2”.

urban-decay-247-product
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Lip Pencil in “Naked 2”

The pencil is super easy to apply and glides onto the lip without any drag.  It stays put pretty well and lasts as long as my lip colour does so both can be reapplied at the same time.  I am sure it would last longer for most people than it does for me as I am a bit of a lip balm addict and thus apply it I guess a good 10+ times a day.

urban-decay-247-face
Perfect colour to line my lips before applying a nude lip gloss (excuse the end of day tired face)

This product costs £13.50 and I intend to add it to my staples to use often.  I like my make-up to look natural which means I rarely wear colour on my lips so this will work well for me.  I’m not sure I can say I love it as much as my previous one from Estee Lauder but I enjoy it enough to work with it on the basis of it being a great colour and cruelty free.

I really am growing to love Urban Decay more with each visit to them and I can feel myself wanting to try their foundations out next so that may be on my hit list to buy after Christmas when my current foundation starts to run low.

 

Leave a Reply

