beauty

Clearly Youthful – Product review

This week I spotted a post on a veggie forum I use about Superdrug having their Clearly Youthful products down to silly prices (all under £1 in store).  As Superdrugs own brand products are cruelty free and Leaping Bunny certified I made it my business to call into store to pick up a few bits to try.  I opted for the Cream Cleanser and the 3 in 1 Cleanser/Scrub/Mask.

clearly-youthfull-1
Clearly Youthful Cream Cleanser & 3 in 1 Cleanser/Scrub/Mask.

The product range is designed for problematic and aging skin.  My skin isn’t particularly problematic but I am over 30 so love anything to help me fight the signs of aging.  I also loved that the cleanser has an AHA base to help exfoliate super gently each day as I cleanse and with the 3 in 1 product, I can imagine this being super handy for traveling.

I have been using the cleanser for the last few days morning and night and I am pleasantly surprised.  It smells lovely, it has a fruity, perhaps apple scent and is a nice consistency.  It removes my make-up well although not so great at removing mascara.  I have to use some Ultrabland by Lush to get the mascara off.  My skin feels lovely and soft after using this product and not tight or drained.

clearly-youthfull-2
3 in 1 Cleanser/Scrub/Mask being worn as a mask

I gave the 3 in 1 product a whiz this morning.  Its scent isn’t as nice as the cleanser, although it isn’t a bad smell as such, just a bit chemically.  This is a wet mask so it won’t dry like other masks and it applied quite lightly.  I left the mask on for longer than their recommended 5 – 10 minutes (I was prepping food and got distracted by Amelia wanting a snack and a drink) and it didn’t agitate my skin which is great.  It is a great scrubby product so if you enjoy a good scrub, this will work well for you.  I don’t think I would want to use it as a daily cleanser for long periods of time as I don’t like to scrub daily so for me its very much a mask and scrub.

clearly-youthfull-3
After using the mask (excuse the sleepy face, it was early morning)

I think I will be calling back into Superdrug to buy more of the cream cleanser while it is super cheap as I am really enjoying it.  I could take or leave the 3 in 1 product.  It isn’t a bad product, I just have other scrubs and masks I would pick over it and so I wouldn’t buy it again.

The back of the tubes claims that you will see an improvement in your skin right away but it will be more noticeable over time.  I personally think it leaves my skin looking nice after I have used it and will stick with it for a few weeks to see if it helps with the signs of aging.  Be nice if it works like magic and makes me look 21 again.

Leave a Reply

