Friday Fling

My name is Emmy and I have a problem…

I hold my hands up and admit I take after my Granny, she had a lot of stuff in her house and well, I am a total hoarder and have a lot of stuff in my house too.

When I went on maternity leave during the summer we had not long moved house and I made it my mission to empty 1 box a day to get the house sorted.  There were so many boxes it is insane.  I managed to empty every box that was in the house, however there are still lots of “unimportant” boxes in the garage.

So that begs the question, if these boxes are so unimportant why do I keep moving them from house to house with me?  Why do I need to keep so much stuff that has been in boxes from as far back as 2006?  The simple answer is that I don’t need half as much stuff as I currently have and so I have decided that each weekend I need to start sorting through my clutter (both boxed and around the house) and keep only the things that I both need and that make me happy.

So todays fling session is something you may not expect to be a real problem.  Pyjamas!  Yes, my name is Emmy and I own FAR too many pyjamas.  Every Christmas my mum will buy me a pair because she knows I love them.  To be fair, I really do love pyjamas and I put them on in the evening when I get home from work as they are just so super comfy.  I have a large drawer dedicated to my PJs and it really was at the full to bursting point.

dsc_0359

In total I had 10 pairs, most of which are in the photo above.

So I asked myself:

  • Do I wear these?
  • Do I love these?

If I answered yes to both questions then I kept them and this is what I ended up with.

dsc_0360

I feel content having more than halved my collection down to 4 pairs that I can truly say I love.  A small success to start my decluttering and I think I will stick to asking myself the same questions for future declutter sessions.

Next week I have a new wardrobe arriving… that will be my perfect excuse to declutter my giant stash of clothes.  I’d like half the clothes that I currently have floating about the house.  Now that prospect DOES scare me!

What areas of your home do you need to declutter?

3 thoughts on “My name is Emmy and I have a problem…

  1. I can really relate to this post! I also love pjs and consider it a bit of a “problem.” I don’t think I could bring it down to four, too much washing… 😊

    Like

    1. Ah with a baby and a toddler our washing machine is on almost every day anyway so I honestly always end up wearing the same 2 or 3 pairs over and over while the rest just stay in the drawer just in case I ever want to pop them on. Silly really.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

